liliaeth: (Default)
[personal profile] liliaeth
Well my digibox finally allowed me to download/rent the Avengers yesterday, so naturally I decided to do so.

After watching the movie, I can only say a few things.

1. My favorite character is still Steve Rogers, With Tony and Thor on a shared second place. (even though I still prefer Steve as the woobie of the two, Tony just works better as the funny guy, then he does as someone you have to feel sorry for.)

2. I couldn't care less about Loki. Now I love that Thor still loves his brother, but personally, Loki just doesn't do it for me at all. He's too arrogant and whiny for my tastes. Not to mention that the only thing he learns from his mistakes, is how to feel more sorry for himself, unlike Thor, who has his flaws, but tries to improve himself and become a better person despite his flaws.

3. I was unsure about Fury until he refused orders in regards to nuking Manhattan and showed that his priority was saving lives,not just finding an easy way to win the battle.

4. Black Widow gets more awesome the more I watch the movie and I really want to watch a movie starring her. Hawkeye can be in it, but he doesn't have to be. I definitely wouldn't mind a what's the female term for bromance, sistermance?, with Maria Hill though.

5. I don't really care about Phil Coulson,never have,but it was interesting to note that Phil was the one who told Fury to use his death to motivate the Avengers.

6. I love that in the end the final battle wasn't about the Avengers saving their love interests/one of their own, but about saving innocent civilians/New York. I loved the first three Spider-Man movies, but utterly hated that all three of them ended with Mary Jane in danger and Peter having to save her. It just feels more heroic to me to see the heroes save total strangers, than it is to see them save their own loved ones.

7. Cap saying "Hulk... smash", is still one of the best lines of the movie.

8. I really want to see Thor running into the Winchesters, which is why I'm writing a SPN-crossover for the Avengers crossover big bang. I mean seriously, with their opinions on gods, that's a meeting that'd be fun as hell to write.

9. I also want to have Cap run into Cas.

10. Pepper is way too good for Tony.

Date: 2012-08-31 10:41 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] corbyinoz.livejournal.com
Really, really don't like Captain America. I honestly find him a very nasty piece of work.

But I like Hawkeye and Natasha!

Date: 2012-08-31 12:43 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ffutures.livejournal.com
1: Still prefer Natasha of the core Avengers; she still has a few human weaknesses, such as her initial fear of Hulk.

2: Loki is an asshole - really can't understand why anyone sees him as a romantic figure. He's not even Snape, he's Voldemort!

3: Awesome Fury is awesome. And the manipulative bits were right in character for the comics version.

4: See 1. And definitely with Maria. Or Elektra?

5: They did some nice things with Coulson - I suspect he is not entirely dead yet...

6: Definitely - and if you want an even more extreme example, most of the problems the Fantastic 4 dealt with in the first of their films were caused by them in the first place; they get applauded for cleaning up problems they're responsible for creating!

7: That was a great line. Which led to a brief Hulk/Thing team-up in my crackfic Avengers / Ghostbusters story which at one point had Hulk saying "Hulk Clobber!" It's one of the joys of fanfic that you can do things like that.

8-9: Not a Supernatural fan so I'll have to pass on this.

10: Pepper is way too good for anyone!

Date: 2012-08-31 04:41 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bananainpyjamas.livejournal.com
I have both Loki and Tom Hiddleston blocked on Tumblr through Tumblr Savior, lol. IDG all the love for him either.

Natasha was a very pleasant surprise for me. Initially I didn't expect to like her because I wasn't a huge fan in IM2 and she seemed like she'd be outclassed standing next to Cap/Thor/IM/Hulk, but Joss really sold me on her and made her a believable non-powered badass.

Date: 2012-09-04 05:50 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] 90scartoonman.livejournal.com
1. Steve's my favorite too.

3. Yeah, they showed Fury living in a morally grey area but still, ultimately, doing what's right.

4. In terms of characterization, the movie did the most for Widow and Bruce Banner.

6. I don't get why they kept doing that. Did they feel the stakes wouldn't be high enough if Peter Parker wasn't saving his love interest?

10. She is, but she could still do a lot worse than Tony Stark.

September 2020

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 09:35 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios