liliaeth: (Sam badass)
[personal profile] liliaeth
Just reviewed a fic, and I probably shouldn't have. Should have just ignored it and moved on, but... I guess I hit a moment of 'no more'

I hate charbashing, that's nothing new, so it shouldn't surprise anyone. Hell I can't even stand it when people bash characters that I despise myself.

But for me the worst kind of charbashing is in rpf.

It's weird, I've written fics with Jared or JDM as the bad guy. And I wouldn't call those charbashing, since it's just them playing the part of the bad guy. So why does it affect me so badly when someone writes a J2 fic, AU or otherwise, and has Jared talk about how he can't stand Gen for being clingy?

Somehow it just feels ... different.

I was going to just read on and ignore it, because well I love werewolf fics.

But then at the end of the first chapter they had Jensen call Danneel a whore. Not because she actually did anything wrong, but because she was interested in him. Never mind that in the fic, Jensen is the guy who behaves whorish by seducing women who are in a relationship and getting them to cheat on their boyfriends. Never mind that he probably ruined her life in the fic, cause hey... none of that is of course his fault. No he gets to call her a whore and we're supposed to be amused by it...

It's one thing to have Dean Winchester call Ruby a whore, or a bitch because well, she's a demon, she's evil and he seems to have a limited repertoire of insults were women are concerned. But when any version of Jensen or Jared uses those words against their real life wives, it just feels like it's the author's bias screaming through. And it pulls me right out of a fic that I'd normally like.

Also... I'm going to laugh at any fic that has a Jared over sixteen, called a runt. I've seen this in several fics recently and it's like... have you seen Jared? Yes he's grown since spn started, but he was hardly a runt even when he was on 'Gilmore girls'.
(deleted comment)

Re: Not really related, but curious

Date: 2012-06-07 10:27 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] spiceblueeyes.livejournal.com
Butting in to say I'm really looking forward to that sequel!

Date: 2012-06-07 09:22 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] just-ruth.livejournal.com
It is a fact that you will seldom find a more vicious group of misogynists than the so-called "tin hats." I don't think you could trust them to baby sit a female child because of the depths of their hatred.

Rumors are flying that the reason Jared and Jensen cancelled the Paris con is because there's been a serious threat against their wives and the baby.

Date: 2012-06-07 10:37 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] just-ruth.livejournal.com
It's always been beyond me, and that's a fact.

Date: 2012-06-07 09:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] honeylocusttree.livejournal.com
You're not wrong. Women hating on other women who they don't know and will never meet merely for being involved in the lives of other people they don't know is just obnoxious, whiny, and lacking in either pride or courage.

Date: 2012-06-07 10:25 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] spiceblueeyes.livejournal.com
I agree with everything you've said here. It feels different to me too, and I don't like reading fics that do that so I generally stop reading if they do.

Date: 2012-06-07 10:57 pm (UTC)

Date: 2012-06-08 03:05 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] vampslayer04.livejournal.com
So much hate for the tinhats. I can *wink nudge* with the best of them about J2, but it's clear Jared and Jensen love their wives.

This whole mess has put me completely off most RPS, unless it's a total AU.

Hell, I actually like Ruby, and I think they gave her the short end of the stick with that storyline, and I'd love to see her back.

So that automatically splits me from most of fandom.

Date: 2012-06-08 06:33 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] frelling-tralk.livejournal.com
I totally agree with you, I didnt even like when Dean called Ruby names quite honestly. I mean bitch is one thing because, without meaning to sound dismissive of it, it is kind of a general insult that most people will have used at some time in their life, but I always hated when the writers had Dean using words like whore and skank against Ruby because it did make it seem like he had a problem with women. And yet in seasons 1 and 2 he was happily having casual sex and never seemed to have any problem with women who would do the same thing, so why he would jump to those kind of insults never sat right with me

Date: 2012-06-08 01:13 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jespretender.livejournal.com
I think you'll find these women are laughing all the way to the bank with their millions so I shouldn't worry about them too much. Personally I get more upset if a child or an animal is hurt in a story.

September 2020

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 01:55 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios