liliaeth: (Default)
[personal profile] liliaeth
A few years ago, I'm not sure exactly when, I was still working for my dad in Antwerps, keeping his shop and preparing for Christmas. I was told that my niece and her family were going to be at my dad's Christmas party, so naturally, I planned to bring her baby boy a christmas present.

Since I was a bit low on cash, as usual*g*, I was looking in my dad's shop for my presents. (hey who wouldn't if their employer gave them 50% off of the retail price) And after finding my brother and sister's presents and my dad's girlfriend's present and my parents present, I saw this cute little monkey. My sister was in the shop with me at the time and I told her I thought that might be a nice little present for my cousin, along maybe with something a bit bigger.

My sister (at least I think it was my sister, I'm not sure, I have a really bad memory for these kind of things) then told me, you can't give that to Jamal, he's black.

So there I stood and I asked her, why not? I mean, it's a cute little monkey, it looks adorable. And she gave me that look of "don't you get it, you can't give a monkey-toy to a black kid".

We talked about it and she told me about the stereotypes equalizing black people to monkeys and I stood there, mouth wide open because I just didn't see the similarities and had never even considered comparing monkeys to black people. Monkeys are monkeys, they're funny and cute.

And sure black people can be funny and cute too, but come on, ... monkeys.

I've never considered myself a racist. My stepmother is black (not to even mention the majority of the girlfriend he's had in between relationships with her), my grandfather was jewish, I stood in a store with one of my dad's black giflriend/ex-es for two years, I dated a black guy. And I've always stood up against racism. Yet there I was, thinking of giving my cousin, a gift that would apparently be considered racist.

I just started thinking about this again, when people mention white privilege and how we just don't get it when we say we're colorblind.

Anyway, in the end I gave Jamal another toy.

But seriously, monkeys?
(and what the hell is up with watermelons, I love watermelons)

Date: 2008-10-26 06:31 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] athenewolfe.livejournal.com
I think it is a good thing you had never heard of the racist connotation. I don't understand racism ... I study to many horrible things in life to understand why anyone would do the things that people do to anyone... white, black, pink, red... doesn't matter to me...

Hugs you tight

Sorry to ramble ... just random thoughts

Date: 2008-10-26 07:04 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dallin-dae.livejournal.com
I think it's a bit of a vicious cycle really. People get so paranoid about doing certain things that might offend someone of a particular ethnic origin that they do wind up treating them differently because of their colour, and so the issue of race remains in the foreground instead of fading away.

Date: 2008-10-26 07:58 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mississippienne.livejournal.com
Re: the watermelon thing, blacks were often portrayed in old racist caricatures with bright red lips, eating watermelon. It's one of those stereotypes that has some basis in fact, because most blacks lived in the South, where EVERYONE loves watermelon. Blacks love watermelon, whites love watermelon. For that matter, the stereotypical 'black' food is just normal Southern food: fried chicken, collard greens, okra, etc. Blacks brought those foods with them when they migrated North, but you won't find many homes in the Deep South of any color that don't eat those foods.

Date: 2008-10-26 10:42 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] writeangel1.livejournal.com
I'm African American and grew up in a multi-cultral enviorment. I must admit i have no idea what is up with monkeys...my cousin has a stuffed monkey she carries around everywhere. *shrug*

As for watermelons it is as the person above said. I learned about it from the movies, Black people with huge red lips eating ginormeous slices of melon. Its incredibly stupid as everyone loves watermelon. *shakes head* but that bigotry for you.

Date: 2008-10-27 06:30 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] archbishopm.livejournal.com
I totally sympathize. I am apparently comedically dim when it comes to determining people's ethnicity, yet at the same time get scolded for making racist remarks.

Date: 2008-10-28 01:55 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] seriousfic.livejournal.com
I think it's just people being oversensitive. Isn't assuming that a black person will flip out upon being given a toy with the slightest gossamer of racial connotations also racist?

Also, have you made any headway on the Spider-Man fic... beta... thing?

September 2020

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 06:41 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios