Spectacular Spider-Man ep 4
Mar. 22nd, 2008 08:41 pmNews at eleven, well nine: Spectacular Spider-Man still rules.
I love the repurcussions of Peter's behavior still having an effect, Harry being completely in character, instead of being turned into some millionaire playboy. I love the hints to MJ's first appearance in the comics, as the neighbour's niece with the 'great personality'.
Peter's so clueless.
But most of all, I love the ending, with Peter insisting to aunt May that he'd help her out with the money he gets from the Bugle. And her only accepting it, if he keeps ten procent to get himself a new camera. I love that his first priority is aunt May, and only then himself, as it should be.
Why is it that Marvel doesn't seem willing to give us 'this Spider-Man' in Amazing. It's not that I mind Peter messing up on occasion. It's that in Amazing, he does nothing but mess up. Both as Peter and as Spidey. Don't they get that Peter might be seen as a loser, but that doesn't mean he really is a loser, and that there's a huge difference between the perception and the reality of loserdom?
no subject
Date: 2008-03-22 09:55 pm (UTC)That was so like the comic and very fitting. I thought that maybe we would see MJ but, just like the comic, we didn't get to when she was first mentioned. Peter's reaction to the line, 'great personality', was priceless.
Getting a good look at the staff of the Bugle was nice. I LOVE Jameson in here. I find his character is a mix of the comic and the movies. Robbie and Betty were great in here as well.
The ending was great. It is so like Peter to help May out with money. Plus, May was right to have Peter save a little to get him a new camera. I think this is my favourite interpretation of Aunt May.
The only criticism I have is with Shocker. Montana is NOT the Shocker in the comics and I hate it when they go out of canon to do things. It would have been better if they had used Herman Schultz in here since he is comic's Shocker. Other than that, the Shocker was awesome.
no subject
Date: 2008-03-24 12:08 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-03-22 10:16 pm (UTC)I would have missed this entirely if you hadn't posted about it!
So again, thank you!
no subject
Date: 2008-03-24 12:07 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-03-31 01:51 am (UTC)