Is Buffy a massmurderer?
Jun. 5th, 2006 10:52 pmAnd yet another post...
I seem to be on a roll
X-men 3, just came back from watching it and loved it.
Could give you a thesis on why and which characters I liked and so on, but that'll have to wait due to me not feeling like it right now*g*
I followed another
su_herald-post and
jgracio came up with the old chestnut: "If there's a chance for a normal, nothing too special about him/her, vamp to not be evil, then any time Buffy kills a new one, heck, any time she kills a vamp without first checking it's background, she might be commiting murder. You're watching a show about a mass murderer. Joss Whedon's empowered female icon is a mass murderer."
And I got thinking, what's wrong with actually dealing with that? What's wrong in daring to actually make things complex instead of just hinting at it and then ignoring it when it really comes down to the point. What's wrong with instead of just having Buffy refuse to be called a killer, that someone actually confronts her with the idea that what she's doing might well be wrong.
Yes, it would mean that Buffy has killed vampires who might, someday in the future, not be evil. But then is it right to stay stuck in the black and white perspective of good and evil, humans good, vampires evil? Doesn't it ruin the show that this issue is never truly dealt with?
Is Buffy wrong to stake a vampire who comes fresh out of the grave?
In my opinion, no.
Would Buffy have been wrong in staking Spike in s4, even with the chip, actually, no. She'd have been well in her right, seeing as even harmless at that point, he's still a potential threat. She didn't know enough about the chip to know about its effects on Spike. In fact, had Buffy staked Spike in Pangs, I could have fully well sided with her doing what at that point seemed to be the right thing to do.
Of course, looking back, with what we now know about Spike, it most probably would have ended with the destruction of the world, due to Spike's lack of being there. But the fact is, with the information she had at that point in time, it would have been the right thing to do.
Buffy's like a soldier, fighting a war in the frontline. She's the first line of defense. So yes, she could give every vampire a chance, she could go on assuming that every vampire ought to have a chance to prove him or herself, before she does something. But if she did that, then those vampires, even the ones with the eventual potential for good, would have killed innocent people.
Much as I love Spike, he killed thousands, tenthousands, hell possibly hundreds of thousands innocent people. He spent a 120 years killing innocent people. And every vampire that gets out of its grave, that gets past Buffy, could end up killing the same amount of innocent people if they aren't stopped.
Is a soldier a massmurderer or someone who protects the innocent?
Soldiers too make mistakes, soldiers, like Buffy, are likely to kill hostile fighters that if left alive have the potential to be good men and women who could go on to bring peace and hope. But if that soldier doesn't do his or her duty, those hostile soldiers will potentially kill him or her and all the people that he or she is defending. And that's why a soldier shoots.
Not because the enemy is evil, but because there are people who need to be protected.
Showing that vampires have a potential for good does not make Buffy a massmurderer, neither does it do that for Willow, or Xander, or even Riley. It just makes it more complex, it makes it clear that every vampire she slays was once a victim, an innocent person who got turned into the enemy. And personally I much prefer the complexity over the childish simplicity of good and evil with nothing in between.
To put it in the words of Whedon himself:
Buffy: Does it ever get easy?
Giles: You mean life?
Buffy: Yeah. Does it get easy?
Giles: What do you want me to say?
Buffy: (looks up at him) Lie to me.
Giles: (considers a moment) Yes, it's terribly simple.
They start walking out of the cemetery.
Giles: The good guys are always stalwart and true, the bad guys are
easily distinguished by their pointy horns or black hats, and, uh, we
always defeat them and save the day. No one ever dies, and everybody
lives happily ever after.
Buffy: Liar.
I seem to be on a roll
X-men 3, just came back from watching it and loved it.
Could give you a thesis on why and which characters I liked and so on, but that'll have to wait due to me not feeling like it right now*g*
I followed another
And I got thinking, what's wrong with actually dealing with that? What's wrong in daring to actually make things complex instead of just hinting at it and then ignoring it when it really comes down to the point. What's wrong with instead of just having Buffy refuse to be called a killer, that someone actually confronts her with the idea that what she's doing might well be wrong.
Yes, it would mean that Buffy has killed vampires who might, someday in the future, not be evil. But then is it right to stay stuck in the black and white perspective of good and evil, humans good, vampires evil? Doesn't it ruin the show that this issue is never truly dealt with?
Is Buffy wrong to stake a vampire who comes fresh out of the grave?
In my opinion, no.
Would Buffy have been wrong in staking Spike in s4, even with the chip, actually, no. She'd have been well in her right, seeing as even harmless at that point, he's still a potential threat. She didn't know enough about the chip to know about its effects on Spike. In fact, had Buffy staked Spike in Pangs, I could have fully well sided with her doing what at that point seemed to be the right thing to do.
Of course, looking back, with what we now know about Spike, it most probably would have ended with the destruction of the world, due to Spike's lack of being there. But the fact is, with the information she had at that point in time, it would have been the right thing to do.
Buffy's like a soldier, fighting a war in the frontline. She's the first line of defense. So yes, she could give every vampire a chance, she could go on assuming that every vampire ought to have a chance to prove him or herself, before she does something. But if she did that, then those vampires, even the ones with the eventual potential for good, would have killed innocent people.
Much as I love Spike, he killed thousands, tenthousands, hell possibly hundreds of thousands innocent people. He spent a 120 years killing innocent people. And every vampire that gets out of its grave, that gets past Buffy, could end up killing the same amount of innocent people if they aren't stopped.
Is a soldier a massmurderer or someone who protects the innocent?
Soldiers too make mistakes, soldiers, like Buffy, are likely to kill hostile fighters that if left alive have the potential to be good men and women who could go on to bring peace and hope. But if that soldier doesn't do his or her duty, those hostile soldiers will potentially kill him or her and all the people that he or she is defending. And that's why a soldier shoots.
Not because the enemy is evil, but because there are people who need to be protected.
Showing that vampires have a potential for good does not make Buffy a massmurderer, neither does it do that for Willow, or Xander, or even Riley. It just makes it more complex, it makes it clear that every vampire she slays was once a victim, an innocent person who got turned into the enemy. And personally I much prefer the complexity over the childish simplicity of good and evil with nothing in between.
To put it in the words of Whedon himself:
Buffy: Does it ever get easy?
Giles: You mean life?
Buffy: Yeah. Does it get easy?
Giles: What do you want me to say?
Buffy: (looks up at him) Lie to me.
Giles: (considers a moment) Yes, it's terribly simple.
They start walking out of the cemetery.
Giles: The good guys are always stalwart and true, the bad guys are
easily distinguished by their pointy horns or black hats, and, uh, we
always defeat them and save the day. No one ever dies, and everybody
lives happily ever after.
Buffy: Liar.
no subject
Date: 2006-06-05 09:25 pm (UTC)Buffy is a soldier in a war.
no subject
Date: 2006-06-05 09:33 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-06-05 09:42 pm (UTC)They are already dead.
no subject
Date: 2006-06-05 09:47 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-06-05 10:18 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-06-05 10:25 pm (UTC)Is a parasite a perversion of life because it lives of feeding and causing harm to other beings?
Is a slayer a perversion of life because she has strenght and abilities beyond what should be humanly possible and does that give people the right to kill them?
Being a demon in a dead body only makes a vampire a perversion of life because it's weird to us. Because it's ... wrong.
Buffy doesn't slay vampires because they are dead, she slays them because of what they may do if they aren't stopped.
no subject
Date: 2006-06-05 10:41 pm (UTC)No, because it's alive. It has a place in the order.
>>Is a slayer a perversion of life because she has strength and abilities beyond what should be humanly possible?
Not a perversion of life, no. But quite likely a perversion of humanity, i.e. a freak. And evolution comes from freaks. As she has life, she has a right to it.
>>Being a demon in a dead body only makes a vampire a perversion of life because it's weird to us. Because it's ... wrong.
That's a weak arguement, and you know it! The traditional arguement here would be that God created life and a creature that doesn't die but walks the earth undead is corruption of God's creations. I am an athiest, so that arguement doesn't sit well for me, but it holds true that Matter can only be living or dead, it can't be both.
>>Buffy doesn't slay vampires because they are dead, she slays them because of what they may do if they aren't stopped.
Yes, but what they are dictates that.
no subject
Date: 2006-06-05 10:50 pm (UTC)Let me see if I well remember this, it's been years since I was in high school.
To be counted as a living being, one needs three things:
-to eat: which vampires do
-to reproduce: which vampires do, no matter how they do it, it's still reproduction
-now I can't remember the third right now. Think that might be the one thing that they fail on.
But the basic facts remain, a vampire eats, reproduces, moves, talks and thinks, so who are we to say they aren't in some way alive. Maybe not in the way a human is alive, but still...
no subject
Date: 2006-06-05 11:02 pm (UTC)No, they're not, therefore proving they aren't life. They are corpses animated by demons, which are magical beings, not living ones. To 'live' they have to die. Nothing about their bodies is alive and working to keep that body in existence. It's magically driven.
To say the they reproduce is stretching the definition a bit, I think. It's a ritual exchange, a blood ritual, and therefore also magically driven.
And the simple answer: if they were alive, why would they be called 'undead'?.
no subject
Date: 2006-06-05 11:10 pm (UTC)Is a plant any less alive, because it does not breathe oxygen and doesn't have babies, the way a human is?
And isn't all reproduction a form of ritual.
Like with humans, males and females get together, the male donates a part of his body that enters the females body and joins with a part of her body to create a new life.
Isn't magic by nature, something that isn't yet explained by science?*eg*
And the term undead was coined by humans, does that make it the only truth possible.
Not that I'm entirely disagreeing with you*g*, just saying that life is relative from the point of view of the person calling something alive or not.
Take a plant during winter, by all notions of life it is dead, yet given spring it comes up again, it's still alive though burried.
no subject
Date: 2006-06-05 09:48 pm (UTC)The show, of course, always wanted the viewers to look at everything from Buffy's and a human's perspective, which is fair enough. So the show writers certainly wanted the answer to be 'soldier' rather than 'mass-murderer'. I do find that graying that up is much more interesting to me personally, but it's clearly not what the writers intended. Which is one of my major problems with the show, actually, but... *shrug* It is what it is. But that doesn't mean you can't try to look at it from another viewpoint, or even find that viewpoint more interesting. It's pretty much a matter of preference, I think.
no subject
Date: 2006-06-05 09:57 pm (UTC)And it's one of the reasons why I don't get people who see Spike as more evil because he killed slayers. From his viewpoint, he's as heroic fighting slayers, as a slayer is heroic from a human viewpoint.
And it's why I understand him not showing more guilt in LMPTM because of all the people he killed, at least the slayers went in, with the intention of killing him as well.
no subject
Date: 2006-06-05 10:06 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-06-05 10:15 pm (UTC)But yep, Spike isn't in it for atonement, it's like in that scene with Lindsey, Spike doesn't go save people to make up for the past, he does it to prevent people from dying in the future.
no subject
Date: 2006-06-05 10:16 pm (UTC)What creature doesn't fight for its life? Vampires are evil, but even then fighting for one's own continued existence is morally corrupt, it's a biological imperative.
no subject
Date: 2006-06-05 10:27 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-06-05 09:58 pm (UTC)I think it is a specious argument to say that by Buffy killing all vampires, she could possibly be killing a non-violent or good vampire. I don't think the history of vampires shows that in any way to be true. Vampires kill humans. They're demons, and it was only extraordinary circumstances that changed Angel and Spike - Angel's soul and Spike's chip. Now I could argue - and have - that Spike could have maybe refrained from evil if the chip had been removed at the end Season 6 without him getting a soul. I'm a redemptionista. He had human ties in the world - not just Buffy but also Dawn and to a lesser extent the Scoobies - but he still didn't have a conscience. I think he had to see everything through a 'what would Buffy want me to do' prism, and even then he screwed up royally. But he tried, I think, and I don't think any other vampire would have or could have done what Spike did. He was unique, and the definition of unique is: Being the only one of its kind.
no subject
Date: 2006-06-05 10:02 pm (UTC)She'd laugh in your face, because that's a century of innocent people dying because of a change in the vampire that may or may not happen some time in her future. Understanding that vampires may, under very specific circumstances change, some time in the future does not mean you can just let them go free, because like all slayers, Buffy has to live in the now and she'd feel responsible for all the lives lost because of something she didn't do.
no subject
Date: 2006-06-05 10:15 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-06-05 10:09 pm (UTC)But, hey, we know people are never going to give up this sad line of argument. They need it to help support their hatred of the concept of redeeming Spike.
no subject
Date: 2006-06-05 10:31 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-06-05 10:28 pm (UTC)Actually, practically up until Willow's big Scythe-spell, she's the only (unincarcerated) soldier in the war who has the power and strength to fight demons on a relatively equal footing. Calling her a mass murderer is to completely miss the point, which was that probably the least likely person in the world - a tiny little California blonde - was the only one empowered to actually save it.
no subject
Date: 2006-06-05 10:34 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-06-05 11:17 pm (UTC)Whether you judge vampires to be evil or acting according to their nature they are sentient beings, killing them in battle is one thing but capture and torture is another (season two female vampire, Buffy shoved a cross in her mouth to get her to talk)
But the consorting with the enemy should have had her struck off the slayer register *grin*
no subject
Date: 2006-06-06 02:45 am (UTC)Or possibly a fictional supernatural character with no precident in the real world. Or is that too silly?
no subject
Date: 2006-06-06 04:41 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-06-06 11:29 pm (UTC)Shakatany
no subject
Date: 2006-06-09 07:16 am (UTC)And Buffy is actually willing to give demons, other than vampires a chance. Just look at that demon that was selling the books of ascension.
The Fyarl thing... She believed this particular fyarl had just killed Giles, is it any wonder she wasn't about to go listen to the demon that in her mind had murdered her father(figure)
no subject
Date: 2006-06-11 12:33 am (UTC)ME never was explicit on how much blood or how often vamps needed to consume it (I once wrote a post on that here (http://shakatany.livejournal.com/49951.html)) which leaves it to the fans to fill in the gaps.
Shakatany
no subject
Date: 2006-06-10 02:19 am (UTC)Buffy was not that show. Much as you might have preferred a more morally grey show, where the roles weren't so clearly defined, where vampires aren't evil just because, Buffy wasn't that show.
BTVS is a show where Buffy, our hero, kills vampires while on a date. She has fun doing it. She never even pauses to consider if she should kill a vampire. That's not the behaviour of a soldier.
You say that if unsouled vampires could be good that it wouldn't matter because Buffy would still be a soldier, and without knowing if they were good or bad would still be forced to kill all of them. Those good vampires she kills are civilians.
Because if vampires can be good, then Spike wouldn't have been the first. And some of them would have been good from the start, right out of the grave. Baby vampires really.
I would've hated a Buffy that kills without asking, without making sure just a little bit, if only just a little bit, that she isn't killing an innocent.
I stand by my words. The possibility of redemption for a souless vampire couldn't exist in a show where the hero killed them without worry or questions, not without ruining the hero.
It's a pity that that conflicted with what you wanted from the show. If the show's name had been Spike the Vampire, then he could have won the redemption without a soul, but Buffy, at least the kill happy, kill em' all and let God sort em' out Buffy would've been a villain.