Jul. 1st, 2012

liliaeth: (Nick and Juliette)
Bit late, I know, but I just wanted to say how grateful I was last week to everyone who wished me a happy birthday, it really brightened my day (and reminded me once again that I should start mentioning something for other people)

I also had some issues at work. Trying to get it off my mind, not my problem, I didn't do anyything wrong, but I still keep feeling crappy about it.

Pretty long rant about my job )

Anyway, to make myself feel better I figured I'd start a new meme*g*

Ten things I disagree on, in regards to popular opinion in fandom

1. In regards to BtVS, I do NOT like the ep 'the Body'. I know it's everyone's fave, that it's so deep and that Joss should have had an Emmy for it and all that crap. But the reality for me is that it doesn't make me cry. I feel it's overworked, somewhat stilted and lacks true emotional impact. In comparison, Forever makes me cry every single time. I'd much rather move directly from 'IWMTLY' to Forever without having to watch 'the Body'. The lack of Spike in said ep may or may not have something to do with that.

2. BTVS S4-S7 is where it's at. I find the first three seasons somewhat weak, and if asked, I'd much rather prefer watching the later seasons. The first three just aren't as memorable as the later ones.

3. I'm not interested in the future part of SPN ep 504, as in, at all. With the exception of the Walking Dead, I generally lack interest in post apocalypse worlds. (much more interested in recovery than in the fall of society) Am I really the only one who'd far prefer seeing fic dealing with what happens right before Dean is sent to the future, aka the religious fanatics that Zachariah set on Dean's tail, than I am in future Cas? Birds chirping. Just me then

4. I hate, despise and can't watch 'the French Mistake'. I don't go for comedy, I love the occasional joke, I love small moments of humor. What I utterly can not stand is people making fools of themselves and slap stick. And that ep is utterly full of both of those. I'm just not into farce or shadenfreude, I tend to put myself in their place too much for that.

5. I don't like Crowley. I think he's overused and I really wished they'd kept him dead in s6

6. I'm NOT into Derek/Stiles. Stiles isn't even my favorite character on Teen Wolf. I far prefer watching Scott and Allison. (yes, ducking the rotten tomatoes already) I won't mind reading Derek/Stiles if I have to, to get some Scott, but really I just love Scott.
Similar in Smallville, I only have a limited interest in Chloe and would by far prefer reading about Clark, so why is it so rare to find crossover fics with Smallville that have Clark as a major character?

7. Wesley Wyndham Pryce on Angel completely and utterly lost my interest in s3 of Angel. I loved the guy on Buffy, loved him when he was gaining competence on Angel. But then he went all broodboy jr and seemed to lose all ability to emote along with it. I do not like his acting at all. There I said it, still got that shield, hoping the flames wear off eventually

8. I love Continuum, it's a great show, why can't I find a com for it?

9. Nick is the most interesting character on Grimm. Monroe's fun, but I'd gladly sacrifice any screentime given to him, to get more of Nick, Juliette and Hank. I want to see more of those three.

10. I may or may not have mentioned this before, but Renard is not in my top three of fave Grimm characters. He's not even in my top five, and the mystery surrounding him, doesn't interest me nearly as much as the mystery about Nick's parents does.

So what are your unpopular fandom opinions?

September 2020

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:05 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios